M13 Pre-release!

by magicmakrel

I’m at Magic Inferno tonight for the M13 pre-release. It’s a very postive feeling to be here and be ready to participate. I feel that I drew some pretty good cards, but win or lose, I will have fun.

Update: So the matches are now over and I had a great time playing with some really fun people. I lost more than I won, but my decks were much more competitive. Many matches were 1-2.

Quickstop Games aka Magic Inferno ran the event so that you would win a booster pack for each match you won. This was much better for me as I only won one match but still came away with a booster pack. In my booster win, I scored a Captain of the Watch and Crusader of Odric.

In looking at M13, a few cards really struck me as quite good.

In white, Touch of the Eternal looks to be pretty interesting, but I have to say with its high casting cost it is not very practical. It won’t be easy to get into play. Ajani Suntsrikers proved to be very practical in my opinion. Rhox Faithmender was a very nice draw on my part.

In blue, I had some success with Switcheroo, but it is Fog Bank that really looks like a great card. Another very practical card looks to be Tricks of the Trade. A lot of players were making use of Watercourser, Welin Tern, and Wind Drake.

In black, Rise from the Grave, was useful despite its high casting cost. I liked Harbor Bandit as well. I am always fond of unblockable creatures and the reprint of Tormented Soul helps. Bloodhunter Bat would work well with a card like Conjurer’s closet. I drew a Shimian Specter, but it was quickly removed when I played it.

I did not have a great draw in red or green, but based on what others are playing I could seem some nice cards in M13. In red, Krenko the Mob boss, looks cool, but it costs too much money for my budget decks. In green, looks like there are some very good spiders coming our way.

A surprisingly good card is Ring of Evos Isle. Played on a blue creature, it quickly creates a powerful threat. Chronomaton also looks like it could quicky become a threat.

Anyway, I enjoyed my gaming and can’t wait to do some brewing with the new cards.

I finished the night up with a trade. I traded my Hellion Crucible for a Splinterfright.

On my way back, I stopped by Cheers and had a $2 draft before heading back to the house.