Casselberry’s Most Wanted

by magicmakrel

It should be no surprise that within a few days of my arrival at Casselberry that the police would already be at my doorstep. I say this principally because I am dealing with “family” as usual.

So, let’s get to it.

I am still moving in. The house is still a mess. The house at Casselberry does not have running water yet or any kind of internet connection.

Yesterday, I went to a Rooms-To-Go to look at furniture with my mother. When I entered, I discovered a promotion that required you fill out a card to win. I began filling out that card and got to the part where you enter your phone number. Normally, I do not have a cell phone, but I recently acquired one in order to improve communications with my mother who relies on a cell phone for most of her communications. As I did not know my phone number, I asked my mother for her cell phone so that I could check the received calls on her call list and get my number from her phone. I finished filling out the card and handed it to Miguel the salesman and he quickly ushered us into the showroom. Miguel told us if we needed anything, we could simply check back with him. We spent a considerable amount of time looking at furniture and although there were several enticing items, none of them quite worked out for us. We left and headed over to the Altamonte Mall. I decided to go to Barnes and Nobles while my mother went to Sears. Just after I sat down to enjoy a drink at Barnes and Nobles, my mother runs up to me as says she forgot her cell phone at the furniture store. I tell her I’ll just finish what I’m doing at Barnes and Noble and she can come back and pick me up.

After the passage of some time, I get a phone call. I pick up my cell phone and it is a neighbor. It turn outs, I forgot to give my mother her phone back in the furniture store. Ironically, I still haven’t figured it out and am asking him why he is calling on my cell phone and giving him my mother’s number. Eventually, it sinks in.

Okay, no big deal. Mistakes happen. Everything is back to normal. The cell phone has been located, I’ve enjoyed some time at Barnes and Noble, my mother is on her way back. I take a short trip around the mall. When I get back, my mother is waiting at Barnes and Noble. I give her the phone and we decide to grab some lunch at the food court.

Fast forward to sometime late after dark and there comes a knock on the door at the house at Casselberry. It’s the police.

It turns out my Aunt has called the police to report a lost cellphone. Here is the police report:

My mother and I explain what happened to the police who seem to take it well- even smiling at times. Though, I can’t say the situation is very funny.

Later, I speak to my mother who DENIES sending the email to my Aunt. It is possible someone else sent the email to my Aunt using my mother’s account as my mother relies on other people to facilitate her internet access.

I have asked for a copy of the “sent” email from her, but have not yet received it. I feel the ip header information would be somewhat useful. The only email I have in my inbox is the following and it certainly would not justify any kind of police involvement:

I did find these email in my inbox this morning:

As cities across the country continue to struggle with budgets, the overuse/abuse of police services will impact other areas that will effect the quality of life for everyone.